Getting blocked on Instagram doesn’t feel nice. On the one hand, there may be a reason for why you’ve been blocked. On the other, you mightn’t have done anything. That being said, it can often be unclear whether or not someone’s blocked you.
While you could ask them in person, this might not be possible for some people. What if Instagram’s the only way you can contact them? Is there a way to tell? After all, you might want them to see all your new Instagram filters.
If you need to find out how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram, then you’re in luck; it should be relatively easy to find out if they have.
Can You Tell If Someone Blocked You On Instagram?
Many people assume that it’s impossible to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram. While there’s no official way of doing so – you’re not notified, after all – there are several ways to figure it out. So, how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram?
Thankfully, figuring this out should be easy.
In general, if Instagram isn’t showing you any information associated with an account, then you’ve been blocked. If you’re able to navigate to their account, then it’ll be barren; you won’t be able to see the account’s posts, profile photo, or stories. You typically wouldn’t be able to get to the account, however.
There’s also the fact that all of their likes and comments on your posts will disappear. In some cases, your direct messages with them will disappear. This isn’t always the case, though. If you check your followers list, alongside the list of accounts you follow, you should also notice that their account has disappeared.
There are also several general signs that someone has blocked you on Instagram. Some of the most notable of these are:
Alongside this, if you navigate to the account using another person’s account, you’ll be able to see everything. This will be a sure sign that you’ve been blocked.
If you notice even a few of the above, then you’ve been blocked on Instagram. While you mightn’t always see all of these signs, the majority of them will always be there. As such, even one of them should be seen as a sign that you were blocked.
What If Their Account Was Deactivated Or Deleted?
If you’re unable to see someone’s account from yours, then it’s highly likely that you’ve been blocked. Should that be the case, then there’s nothing you can do. There is an alternative rationale, however; they may have deleted or deactivated their account.
While the majority of people would mention this beforehand, not all of them would. If they’ve deactivated their account, then you wouldn’t be able to see it. Instagram itself may also have deleted it, in which case, your friend would not have been able to mention it beforehand.
If this is what happened, then there are some easy ways to find out. The first is to use someone else’s account to check. If they’re able to see and interact with the profile, then it hasn’t been deactivated; you’ve been blocked.
Should they be unable to see the Instagram account, however, then it means the account was deactivated. While you wouldn’t be able to figure out whether Instagram or the person you followed deleted the account, at least you’ll know what happened.
There’s also the option of contacting the person themselves outside of Instagram. If they’ve blocked you on the platform, however, it’s likely that they blocked you elsewhere too.
Thankfully, figuring out how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is surprisingly easy. Using each of the steps mentioned above, you shouldn’t have any issues finding out if they have. Why they may have blocked you is a different story altogether.
In some cases, this could be a mistake. In others, there could have been something you’ve done. Regardless, there could be little to be done to correct the situation. If their account was deactivated, then you may be in luck, and they could come back to it relatively soon.
You can always check with someone else’s account to see their account is still there. If it’s gone, then you haven’t been blocked. If it’s there, then you may be out of luck.